AUTISM AWARENESS

In an effort to make sure I give recognition to various causes, I am shining a light on Autism awareness. I happen to have a friend whose child, Desmond, is autistic. Turns out his son’s school in Tigard, OR (CFT Elementary) does not have th money to support the special needs children there. Here is the full story here:

I Run For Desmond

 
 
 

Next

$1,765 of $2,500
71%
18 donations
109 days left
 

Amy Zirkelbach and her family are running for Autism Awareness/ raising money to support Desmond and the Special Ed Dept. at CFT Elementary.

Hello,
I wanted to tell you about an awesome kid named Desmond. He is my son and he has a form of (ASD) Autism Spectrum Disorder. It is a disorder In which effects thousands of people in our community everyday. This disorder involves delay in social /communication abilities and learning development.
Desmond has been such a blessing. He can shine a light on anyone’s day, if you just spent a few moments interacting with him. He has his own ways of expressing himself and getting everyone’s attention.  In this past year that he has attended Charles F. Tigard Elementary he has shown tremendous improvement in his social and communication abilities. I thank everyone who has supported Desmond at this school. I want to continue helping my son succeed in school, but the funds are not always available to the special education department to meet the needs of the children with many disorders like Desmond.

I am proposing to you to help make people aware of ASD in our schools by supporting and getting involved.

How to support is easy…. I am running a series of races in the portland metro area. Just choose a race and donate.For every mile I sweat you donate a dollar to the cause.  If you want to donate more, that is Awesome!!!

Another way to support is If you enjoy running, you can sign up for team I run for Desmond (for some of the races) when you register for that race. We love all the support we can get so just put on those running shoes and bright colored shorts and prepare to have a great run.
Races I Am Running:

*Shamrock Run 15k (9+ miles) March 16

*Race For Roses 1/2 Marathon (13+ miles) April 13 TEAM REGISTRATION I RUN FOR DESMOND

*Sean’s Run 10k (6+ miles) April 26

*Rock and Roll 1/2 Marathon (13+ miles) May 18

Leave a Reply

